Discover Adionomy, Your Online Radio Advertising Campaign, Fast, Easy and Custom-Made!

Artist file

Ohio Players


The Ohio Players are a funk and R&B band whose heyday was in the mid- to late 1970s. They formed in Dayton, Ohio in 1959 as the Ohio Untouchables, and initially included members Robert Ward (vocals/guitar), Marshall "Rock" Jones (bass), Clarence "Satch" Satchell (saxophone/guitar), Cornelius Johnson (drums), and Ralph "Pee Wee" Middlebrooks (trumpet/trombone). The Ohio Untouchables broke up in 1963, with Ward leaving for a solo career, but the core members of the group returned to Dayton and added Gary Webster (drums) and Leroy "Sugarfoot" Bonner (guitar) in 1964.

Albums Ohio Players

24 played on Radionomy

  • Try A Little Tenderness

  • The Best Of Ohio Players

  • Honey

  • Gold

  • Fire

  • Jam

  • Sweet Foxy Lady

  • Mr. Mean

  • Jass-Ay-Lay-Dee

  • Gold Soul

  • Ouch!

  • Funk On Fire - The Mercury Anthology

  • 20th Century Masters: The Millennium Collection: Best Of Ohio Players

  • Greatest Hits

  • The Best of the Ohio Players

  • Best Of

  • The Best Of Ohio Player

  • Skin Tight

  • Contradiction

  • Funk on Fire: The Mercury Anthology (disc 1)

  • Funk on Fire: The Mercury Anthology (disc 2)

  • Ecstasy

  • Pleasure

  • Pain