Cookies help us deliver our services. By using our services, you agree to our use of cookies.

Joachim Witt

Joachim Witt

Life and work

Joachim Witt became a major star of the German pop scene during the 1980s with huge hits such as "Der Goldene Reiter". He was one of the biggest names of the "Neue Deutsche Welle" (New German Wave), of which performers like Nena and Falco were also a part.He made a big comeback at the end of the 1990s, when he scored a major hit with "Die Flut", a duet with Peter Heppner, the singer of popular German synth pop group Wolfsheim. Witt's album "Bayreuth 1" (1998) scored platinum in Germany and Austria. "Bayreuth 2" followed two years later. He has collaborated with such artists as Apocalyptica, Oomph!, Angelzoom, Tilo Wolff of Lacrimosa and just recently, German Electropop group Purwien as well.Joachim Witt was the guitarist/singer in the 1970s Krautrock band Duesenberg. He released three albums with them, "Duesenberg" (1977), "Duesenberg 2" (1978) and "Strangers" (1979), before embarking on a solo career as a singer and actor.In 2000, Journey of Life, released by X-Perience, featured a duet with Witt called "The Meaning Of Life."Joachim Witt also contributed the song "Vandemar" to the 2006 album Where's Neil When You Need Him?, a compilation of songs based on the works of author Neil Gaiman. "Vandemar" is based on a character from Gaiman's novel Neverwhere.Witt was featured in Angelzoom's 2004 video "Back in the Moment" and in 2007 with Purwien's video "Alle Fehler" (All Errors).Witt's "Best of" album titled "Auf Ewig" was released on 31 August 2007, is 16 tracks of some of his current and past work but with more of the hard-hitting Bayreuth 3 sound. Also inside is a bonus DVD containing music videos and interviews. To celebrate the release of "Auf Ewig", Joachim Witt released two new videos of his biggest hits from the 1980s, "Goldener Reiter" and "Herbergsvater". Two million copies of the album have been sold.


Joachim Witt remixed songs from various bands, including Sara Noxx's single "Earth Song." His next contribution was a remix to a song from the upcoming album for Obszon Geschopf that was released in April 2009.On 12 March 2009, Joachim Witt announced on his official MySpace that the Bayreuth Trilogy had ended and all that he provided was that "New projects will take place in the near future." [1\]Joachim Witt also contributed to the Dorian Hunter play by creating the Dorian Hunter 2009 Theme which is available worldwide on iTunes.In May 2009, Joachim Witt confirmed that he is working on his thirteenth album, which is titled Retromania and is currently unknown when the album will be released as it has been delayed.[2\]The Joachim Witt forums [3\] and the official Facebook page has confirmed that the album Retromania has been canceled but Joachim Witt has stated himself that there already is an album in the works and is slated for release, sometime in Autumn of 2012.

Studio albums

  • Silberblick (1980)
  • Edelweiß (1982)
  • Märchenblau (1983)
  • Mit Rucksack und Harpune (1985)
  • Moonlight Nights (1985)
  • 10 Millionen Partys (1988)
  • Kapitän der Träume (1992)
  • Bayreuth 1 (1998)
  • Bayreuth 2 (2000)
  • Eisenherz (2002)
  • Pop (2004)
  • Bayreuth 3 (2006)
  • DOM (2012)
  • Neumond (2014)

Live albums

  • Live In Der Berliner Philharmonie (2002)
  • Live At Secret Garden (2005)

Compilation albums

  • Goldener Reiter (1996)
  • Witt / Das Beste (1998)
  • The Platinum Collection (2006)
  • Auf Ewig (2007)


  • 1981: Goldener Reiter
  • 1981: Kosmetik
  • 1982: Herbergsvater
  • 1983: Märchenblau
  • 1983: Hörner in der Nacht
  • 1984: Wieder bin ich nicht geflogen
  • 1984: Das Supergesicht
  • 1985: Blonde Kuh
  • 1986: How will I Know
  • 1987: Mad News
  • 1988: Engel sind zart
  • 1988: Pet Shop Boy
  • 1988: Der Tankwart heißt Lou
  • 1989: Herbergsvater Mix ´90
  • 1990: Goldener Reiter -Thorsten Fenslau Remix
  • 1991: Hallo Deutschland
  • 1992: Das kann doch einen Seemann nicht erschüttern
  • 1992: Restlos
  • 1992: In die falsche Welt geboren
  • 1992: Kapitän der Träume
  • 1994: Goldener Reiter Remix ´94
  • 1995: Goldener Raver
  • 1997: Das geht tief
  • 1998: Die Flut
  • 1998: Und ... ich lauf
  • 1999: Das geht Tief
  • 2000: Bataillon d´Amour
  • 2002: Eisenherz
  • 2002: Supergestört und Superversaut
  • 2004: Erst wenn das Herz nicht mehr aus Stein
  • 2005: Back In The Moment (mit Angelzoom)
  • 2006: Sternenlicht
  • 2007: Alle Fehler (mit Purwien)
  • 2009: Dorian Hunter Theme
  • 2012: Gloria


Radio stations playing it

No stations playing Joachim Witt now


Hot tracks

Joachim Witt - Peter Heppner - Die Flut

Die Flut


Joachim Witt - Ohne Dich

Ohne Dich


Joachim Witt - Mein Herz

Mein Herz


Joachim Witt - Aufstehen



Joachim Witt - Die Erde Brennt

Die Erde Brennt


Joachim Witt - Bis Ans Ende Der Zeit

Bis Ans Ende Der Zeit


Joachim Witt - Der Herbst

Der Herbst


Joachim Witt - Frühlingskind



Joachim Witt - Die Erde Brennt

Die Erde Brennt


Joachim Witt - Aufstehen



Joachim Witt - Spt



Joachim Witt - Dein Lied

Dein Lied


Joachim Witt - Strandgut