Cookies help us deliver our services. By using our services, you agree to our use of cookies. Learn more

Meg & Dia

Meg & Dia

Meg & Dia was an American rock band formed in 2004. It was founded by sisters Meg and Dia Frampton before becoming a five-piece act (renamed Cowards Courage and released the CD "Straight out of a story book") with additional members Eddie Friends, Jon Cash and Alex Kruse. With the departure of the additional 3, Meg & Dia hastily reverted to their root name with additional members Nicholas Price, Jonathan Snyder (formerly of Madison) and Carlo Gimenez.Meg & Dia (also then known as The Meg & Dia Band) released its first album, Our Home is Gone, in 2005. At the time, the band consisted of just the two Frampton sisters, and the album's tracks were mostly acoustic songs. Meg played guitar and provided back-up vocals while Dia sang. A year later, they released their second album, Something Real, their first album released under Doghouse Records.The band signed with Warner Bros. Records in 2007 and released Here, here and here in 2009 via Sire Records. Before disbanding, they were signed under the name Dia Frampton to Universal Republic.InfluencesMeg and Dia have stated in interviews that many of their songs are influenced by literature, and that it has had a big influence on their lives. Many of their songs are based on books: "Monster" was based on the Cathy Ames character in East of Eden by John Steinbeck; "Indiana" was based on Indiana by George Sand; and "Rebecca" was based on Rebecca by Daphne du Maurier. "Tell Mary" was based on Mary by Vladimir Nabokov. "Hug Me" is based on Brave New World by Aldous Huxley."Courage Robert" was influenced by and written about Robert Schumann, a famous pianist and composer. The song "Here, Here and Here" references Mozart.


Hot tracks