Cookies help us deliver our services. By using our services, you agree to our use of cookies.

The Apples

The Apples

The band The Apples (Hebrew: ???????, Modern {{{2}}} Tiberian {{{3}}}) is an Israeli Funk nine piece – including a drummer, bassist, 4 brass, 2 DJs and a sound console operator. The Apples play funk, jazz and groove.The Apples started out in 2002, when a friend assembled the members of RadioTrip (Ofer Tal, known as SchoolMaster, and Uri Wertheim, known as MixMonster), drummer Yoni Halevy and bassist Shai Ran. The idea was to create a funky base combined with samples, scratching, and a dominant brass division. Their first impressions were actually spontaneous improvisations, which formed the basis of The Apple's first album, "Mitz" (Hebrew for "juice"), published on 2003, which was recorded in one recording session.Their second album, "Attention!" was released in October 2005. The album launch was accompanied by a tour culminating in New Year's Eve at the "Comfort" club in Tel Aviv in front of an audience of about 700 people. The UK edition of "Attention!" was released in 2006. The record contains a bonus track: "Strip Ahskrac 'first Hebrew'".In October 2006, The Apples released a single through the record company Freestyle Records located in London. Albums are distributed worldwide by the two major distribution companies in Europe, Goya Music and SoulSeduction.In January 2007, The Apples toured for three weeks in Britain. They primarily played at the Jazz Cafe nightly.In June 2007, the band released the single (EP) on vinyl 7" with a cover of "Killing in the Name Of" by the band Rage Against the Machine. It gained popularity, and sold out in the shops within a few days, becoming a hit dance radio stations in Europe and Australia.In May 2008, The Apples released their third album "Buzzin' About", on vinyl and CD, through Freestyle Records.In 2010, they released their fourth album, "Kings". The band collaborated with Fred Wesley, the Trombonist musical director of James Brown, and Shlomo Bar, lead singer Natural Selection.Band MembersYonadav Halevy – DrumsElad "Moose" Muskatel – Double bassArthur Krasnobaev – TrumpetYaron Ouzana – TromboneOleg Nayman – Tenor and Soprano SaxophoneYakir Sasson – Baritone saxophoneMarky Funk - TurntablesErez Todres – TurntablesUri "MixMonster" Wertheim – Sound effectsPast membersShai Ran – Double BassAlon Carmeli (will possibly return) - Double BassOfer "SchoolMaster" Tal – Turntables


Hot tracks