Cookies help us deliver our services. By using our services, you agree to our use of cookies. Learn more

The Poodles

The Poodles

The Poodles are a glam metal/heavy metal band from Sweden. They are best known for their hits "Metal Will Stand Tall" and "Night of Passion", the latter of which was played in the Swedish Melodifestivalen in 2006.The band was formed by singer Jakob Samuel (a.k.a. Jake Samuels) who in the early 1990s was Talisman's drummer, bassist Pontus Egberg (ex Lion's Share), guitarist Pontus Norgren (also Talisman, Humanimal) and drummer Christian Lundqvist.The Poodles played in the Swedish Melodifestivalen contest in 2008, this time with E-Type. In addition, they played at the Sweden Rock Festival in 2006 and 2008.FormationIn 2006, Jakob Samuel was asked to sing the track "Night of Passion" (lyrics by Sonja Aldén and music by Matti Alfonzetti, Johan Lyander and Robert Olausson). Samuel loved the song, and asked Christian Lundqvist to join him as drummer for that session. Later bassist Pontus Egberg and guitarist Pontus Norgren joined them to perform the song as a band called The Poodles.The Poodles were one of ten finalists in the Melodifestivalen 2006, and by the time of their performance had added an old friend of Samuel's, Mats Levén, on backing vocals. Melodifestivalen is an annual music competition in Sweden that determines the country's official representative to the Eurovision Song Contest.The Poodles finished in fourth place in Melodifestivalen 2006, then released their debut album called Metal Will Stand Tall to the Swedish market in May 2006. They inked a deal with Germany's AFM Records and then released the album in the rest of Europe on January 19, 2007.The single "Night of Passion" was certified platinum and a follow-up single, "Metal Will Stand Tall" (a duet with Tess from the Swedish dance band Alcazar), was certified gold.The song "Kingdom Of Heaven" was co-written by Jakob Samuel and Marcel Jacob.The band made an initial selection based on 35 songs to be used for their second album. They chose 12 tracks for this release, which was titled Sweet Trade, and was released on September 28, 2007 by AFM Records."Seven Seas", produced by Matti Alfonzetti and Johan Lyander, was selected as the first single. The song was written by Jakob Samuel, Jonas Reingold and Peter Stormare, the Swedish actor.


Hot tracks