Discover Adionomy, Your Online Radio Advertising Campaign, Fast, Easy and Custom-Made!

Artist file

The The


The The is an alternative/new wave band formed in 1979 in London, England. Matt Johnson (vocals, multiple instruments) is the only constant band member. Releases are fairly few and far between but over the years The The has managed to sell several million albums internationally. Johnson formed the first version of the band in 1979, with synth player Keith Laws. The group, after opening for Scritti Politti, issued its first single "Controversial Subject" on the 4AD label in 1980. One year later, it contributed a track to the Some Bizzare Records compilation album, Some Bizarre Album.

Albums The The

20 played on Radionomy

  • 45 RPM: The Singles of The The

  • 45 RPM: The Singles of The The (bonus disc)

  • NakedSelf

  • Naked Self

  • Early Rarities

  • I Saw the Light

  • Disinfected EP

  • Hanky Panky

  • Burning Blue Soul

  • Love Is Stronger Than Death

  • Slow Emotion Replay

  • Solitude

  • Dusk

  • Dogs Of Lust (disc 1)

  • Shades of Blue

  • The Beat(en) Generation

  • Mind Bomb

  • Infected

  • Soul Mining

  • Cold Spell Ahead