Cookies help us deliver our services. By using our services, you agree to our use of cookies.

Sixx: A.M.

Sixx: A.M.

Sixx:A.M. is a hard rock band from Los Angeles, California, formed in 2007 by Nikki Sixx, DJ Ashba, and James Michael, and is the side project of Sixx, who is also the bass guitarist for Mötley Crüe. The group is best known for their songs "Life Is Beautiful" and "Lies of the Beautiful People". The name Sixx:A.M. is a combination of all of the member's last names (Sixx, Ashba, Michael).To date, Sixx:A.M. have released two studio albums; The Heroin Diaries Soundtrack (2007) and This Is Gonna Hurt (2011), and three EP's; X-Mas In Hell (2008); Live Is Beautiful (2008) and 7 (2011).Formation and The Heroin Diaries Soundtrack: 2007-2008The band released The Heroin Diaries Soundtrack in 2007, which is based upon Sixx's autobiography, The Heroin Diaries: A Year in the Life of a Shattered Rock Star.The band made their live debut at Crash Mansion on July 16, 2007. They performed five songs from the album, The Heroin Diaries Soundtrack. The album had no drummer, because lead singer/rhythm guitarist James Michael programmed all the drums. Due to this, there was some curiosity as to who would be playing drums for them live. Former Beautiful Creatures drummer Glen Sobel ended up playing on tour with the band.On October 25, 2007, Sixx:A.M. played another show opening for Korn. At the time of this show, Glen Sobel was on tour drumming with Elliott Yamin.Originally the group stated they had no intention of touring. After constant support for the band and interest in a tour, they held a nationwide vote for tour dates. The tour was scheduled to start in spring 2008, but was postponed to the summer due to unforeseeable circumstances.On April 15, 2008, Sixx:A.M. announced they would be touring as part of Mötley Crüe's Crüe Fest, along with Buckcherry, Papa Roach and Trapt. The tour began on July 1, 2008, in West Palm Beach, Florida. During Crüe Fest, Papa Roach drummer Tony Palermo served as a touring drummer for the band. A deluxe tour edition of The Heroin Diaries Soundtrack was released on November 25, 2008, which included a bonus live EP entitled Live Is Beautiful which features recorded performances from the band's summer tour.This Is Gonna Hurt & Third Studio Album: 2009-presentSixx confirmed the work on a follow-up album to The Heroin Diaries Soundtrack in late 2008, after rumors that the band began writing for their second studio album, during the tour in the summer of 2008.In April 2009, both James Michael and Sixx confirmed that the band was in the studio, recording new material. Sixx added that the new material was "inspiring. it feels like we may have topped ourselves on this album coming up, and can't wait for you to hear what it sounds like." He also revealed that the new album, like the first, would be a concept album, but refused to reveal more details about the concept. He also added that a "surprise", possibly a new song, might be coming soon, and that the album would probably be ready in mid/late 2010.On February 19, 2010, Sixx has revealed that the band is currently in the studio recording the new album, with some guitar tracks by Ashba already laid down, with bass still left to record. Nikki has also said that there is over two albums worth of material written, but like with the first album, it will probably end up being a single album, with the best songs chosen so it won't have fillers.On May 27, 2010, Nikki has revealed he recorded all bass tracks for the upcoming album with him and James Michael now finishing reworking the lyrics before Michael will start recording final vocals. Nikki has also said that music video director P. R. Brown is currently writing the video treatment for the upcoming video for the first single to be released from the album, which is due out in early 2011. On July 23, 2010, Nikki has confirmed that the new album is now finished.On September 4, 2010, it was announced that Sixx will be releasing a new book, entitled This Is Gonna Hurt, which would be accompanied by an album by Sixx:A.M. Some of the songs on the upcoming album were inspired by the author's photographs, others inspired photographs of their own, as the book is part photo, part journal. The HarperCollins imprint William Morrow and Company has then announced the new book will be released on March 22, 2011, accompanied by the album on the same day. On December 7, 2010, the band uploaded a video preview for the new album on their official website, stating that it's coming in April 2011, and though denying the March 22 date. On January 3, 2011, another video preview by the band has confirmed that the book would be released on April 12, 2011, with the album soon following on May 10, 2011, which was confirmed by Nikki Sixx. The lead single "Lies of the Beautiful People" was released on February 25, 2011. On February 15, 2011, Nikki Sixx announced through his Twitter and Facebook accounts that the music video for "Lies of the Beautiful People" would premiere on his radio show Sixx Sense' website on February 16, 2011. Nikki also announced that due to fan demand, the album's release date was moved up to May 3, 2011.On December 5, 2011, lead singer James Michael has announced that the band would be releasing an acoustic EP entitled 7 on December 13, 2011, which will feature 7 new acoustic renditions to previously released songs from the band's previous two studio albums. Michael has also hinted on an upcoming surprise release from the band.On April 11, 2012, the band performed live for the first time in 4 years, at the Revolver Golden Gods Awards which took place at Club Nokia in Los Angeles, CA. The band performed only two songs: "This Is Gonna Hurt" and "Are You with Me Now", which for the latter the band also filmed the music video at the show.On November 21, 2012, the band announced that they were working on new music via their Twitter.On July 18, 2013, they have a new song called "Relief"' for their 3rd album.On January 14, 2014, the band announced that the final song on the next album is titled "Let it Haunt you" via their Facebook.


Hot tracks