Cookies help us deliver our services. By using our services, you agree to our use of cookies.

Me First and the Gimme Gimmes

Me First and the Gimme Gimmes

HistoryThe band originally did not plan on releasing albums; rather, in their first year their work only appeared on compilation albums. This changed in 1995, when the band began releasing singles named after the singer they had covered. They produced Billy, Diamond, Paul, Denver, Barry, Shannon, Stevens, and Elton in this manner. Their first full-length album, Have a Ball, was released July 29, 1997.Each album by the band has a different theme: Have a Ball focuses on classic 1960s, 1970s, and early 1980s songs by singer/songwriters like Elton John, Neil Diamond, and John Denver; Are a Drag consists entirely of show tunes, Blow in the Wind consists of 60s classics, Take a Break consists entirely of contemporary R&B songs by artists such as Boyz 2 Men, Lionel Richie, and Vanessa L. Williams; their fifth album, Ruin Jonny's Bar Mitzvah, was recorded live at an actual bar mitzvah and consists of pop music from the 1960s through the 1980s by artists such as REO Speedwagon, Styx and The Beatles, as well as traditional songs like "Hava Nagila". Their latest record, Have Another Ball! has the same theme as their debut which is 60's-80's music.They entered the studio on April 3, 2006 to work on their sixth album, Love Their Country, which was released on October 17, 2006. The theme of this album is country and western, and includes covers of tracks by Dixie Chicks, Garth Brooks, Hank Williams, Sr. and Johnny Cash. Prior to the release of the album, Fat Wreck Chords released a digital label sampler, iFloyd which included "(Ghost) Riders in the Sky" by the band.In late 2006, Fat Wreck Chords released another digital label sampler Christmas Bonus, containing a previously-unreleased cover of Steve Goodman's "City of New Orleans". In August 2006 Me First and the Gimme Gimmes were scheduled to play three dates at PNC Park after Pirates games, but after they got booed on the first night, the next two nights were cancelled. They were to play along with fireworks during the post-game "Skyblast" shows.On December 5, 2007, Fat Wreck Chords released a flash MP3 holiday bonus sampler called Hanuk-Comp containing "The Boxer" which was originally released on the "Garf" single (released in 1997). There is also a downloadable podcast that features commentary from Fat Mike and Floyd during breaks between songs in which the next album is revealed. It is named Have Another Ball! and contains all the B-sides from Have a Ball. The album was released on July 8, 2008. Fat Wreck Records released "Go Down Under" on February 1, 2011. The EP features 5 songs from musicians that originated in Australia. Their last album was released on September 13, 2011, in which they covered only Japanese music, aptly titled "Sing in Japanese", to coordinate with their upcoming tour in Japan. Although mentioning the band "are planning on doing ep’s in Spanish, Italian, German and French in the near future" in September 2013, there has was no official or unofficial notice as to when the next album will be released or what songs they will be covering. However, in a Reddit AMA on January 28, 2014, Fat Mike revealed the next album theme would be "Diva's", with covers of songs of Streisand, Aguileira and Lady Gaga.


Hot tracks