Cookies help us deliver our services. By using our services, you agree to our use of cookies.

We Are The Ocean

We Are The Ocean

We Are The Ocean are a four piece rock band from Loughton, Essex, England, consisting guitarist, vocalist Liam Cromby, bass guitarist Jack Spence, guitarist Alfie Scully and drummer Tom Whittaker. Vocalist Dan Brown left the band in 2012. They are signed to Hassle Records in the United Kingdom and SideOneDummy Records in the United States.Over the course of their career they have released three LPs: Cutting Our Teeth in 2010, Go Now and Live in 2011 and Their third LP, Maybe Today, Maybe Tomorrow was released on 17 September 2012 through Hassle Records in the United Kingdom and SideOneDummy Records in the United States. They take their Dad on tour with them.Formation and self-titled debut EP (2007–2008)Dan Brown and Jack Spence were formally in a band named Dead But Still Dreaming, and when they disbanded they set about finding new members for a new band. They had formed a full line-up again by 2007 with Liam Cromby, Rickie Bloom and Tom Whittaker, and still under the original name of Dead But Still Dreaming. After a while, Bloom left the band and was eventually replaced by Alfie Scully. Shortly after the creation of this solid line-up, the band decided on a new start with the name We Are The Ocean.The band quickly shot to prominence thanks mainly to MySpace and were nominated for Kerrang! Best British Newcomer and voted K! Readers Poll 2nd best unsigned UK band. They released their debut EP entitled We Are The Ocean in 2008, selling 1000 limited edition copies in 1 day.Cutting Our Teeth and subsequent touring (2008–2010)We Are The Ocean have an extensive tour history, having toured all over the UK, Europe, the US and Australia. They have played countless festivals, including the main stage at Reading and Leeds Festival, Download Festival, and are one of few UK bands invited to play Bamboozle festival in New Jersey, USA, one of the largest alternative/punk festivals in the world.We Are The Ocean started writing material for their debut album around December 2008. The album was produced by Brian McTernan (Thrice, The Bled, Converge) at Salad Days Studio in Baltimore, USA. They were originally aiming for a Summer 2009 release but for unknown reasons the album release date was delayed many times. Pushing back to November, then pushed back again to 25 January 2010, and finally pushed back to 1 February 2010.The band re-released Cutting Our Teeth in October 2010 as a deluxe edition with a second disc, featuring the highly sought limited edition EP, and four unheard tracks. The re-release has received positive feedback from critics.Departure of Dan Brown and Maybe Today, Maybe Tomorrow (2011–present)We Are The Ocean recorded their second album, titled Go Now and Live, with Pete Miles (The King Blues, Canterbury). The album's singles "What It Feels Like", "The Waiting Room" and "Runaway" were all playlisted on Radio 1, and received heavy rotation on many radio and television stations. The album reached number 45 in the chart in its first week. After this happened, the band members attempted to recruit the famous White Shadow player, Jaash 41. However, he stayed with the band.On 1 March 2012, We Are the Ocean released that they will be entering the studio in May to record their third full-length album. On 5 June 2012, it was announced on their Facebook page that the band had parted ways with frontman Dan Brown, who would instead be pursuing a career as a band manager. Cromby will now be the primary vocalist. Brown later revealed in an interview with RockSound magazine that his former band mates had fired him from We Are the Ocean due to the belief that he was no longer making a significant contribution to the creative process of writing the new album. Although the remaining members of We Are the Ocean requested that Brown remain as their manager, he declined. Their third studio album Maybe today, Maybe Tomorrow was released in the UK on 17 September 2012.On 30 March 2013 We Are The Ocean performed at Radstock Festival.


Hot tracks

We Are The Ocean - Young Heart

Young Heart


We Are The Ocean - Ark