Cookies help us deliver our services. By using our services, you agree to our use of cookies.

The Beautiful Mistake

The Beautiful Mistake

The Beautiful Mistake was a rock band from San Diego, California. Formed in 2000, the band released two full length albums: the 2002 debut album, Light A Match, For I Deserve To Burn, and 2004's This Is Who You Are. They also released two EPs and had various songs featured on different compilation albums.Formed by Josh Hagquist and Shawn Grover following the breakup of their previous band, Ember, the band went through numerous member changes with Hagquist (vocals–guitar) remaining the constant in each incarnation of the band. The Beautiful Mistake released albums on SideCho Records, The Militia Group and Reignition Records and had songs and videos featured on Victory Records and Hopeless Records. The band also had their two full-length albums re-released in Europe on Sorepoint/Eat Sleep Records and in Asia on Bigmouth Japan. The Beautiful Mistake toured with numerous hardcore, punk and rock bands including Further Seems Forever, Brand New, Hopesfall, Elliott, Funeral For A Friend, As Cities Burn, Fall Out Boy, Senses Fail, Moneen, Every Time I Die, Open Hand, Glasseater, Brandtson, Anberlin, The Myriad, Copeland, and Emery to name a few. They were also able to share the stage with bands like Snapcase, Shelter, Common Rider, Underoath, Atreyu, Avenged Sevenfold, and Boysetsfire during their extensive touring of the U.S. They also made repeated appearances at CMJ fest in New York and SXSW in Austin Texas. They also had songs featured on numerous television shows on Mtv, Vh1 and the WB network. The Beautiful Mistake played its last full-band show at Purple Door fest in Pennsylvania in 2005. Josh, Shawn and Armin Tchami (drummer on "Light A Match") reunited for an acoustic set at Tomfest 2008 and played songs from every release. As of January 2006, The Beautiful Mistake is on a hiatus; however, founder and songwriter Hagquist continues to perform Beautiful Mistake and Ember songs acoustically on a semi-regular basis. Since 2006, Hagquist has played guitar in The Midwinters, from San Diego, and bass guitar in The Lassie Foundation, from Los Angeles. He also was the touring guitarist for Project 86 in 2011. Former TBM guitarist, Shawn Grover, currently plays in a band from Eugene, Oregon called Moher. Former TBM drummer Josh Quesada plays in a band from Riverside, California called Making Eyes. Jon Berndtson does vocals in two bands from Minneapolis, Minnesota called Get Young and Years Spent.The album This Is Who You Are peaked at No. 49 on the Billboard Top Heatseekers chart, and No. 22 on the Billboard Top Independent chart.Derek Hess created the original piece of artwork for the cover of The Beautiful Mistake / Ettison Clio Split EP on Reignition Records. (Released in 2006)


Radio stations playing it

No stations playing The Beautiful Mistake now


Hot tracks