Cookies help us deliver our services. By using our services, you agree to our use of cookies. Learn more



HistoryRagnarok made a name for themselves locally by recording demo tracks and a compilation album including the song "Et Vinterland i Nord" with their original lineup, consisting of Jerv on bass, Jontho on drums, Rym on guitar and Thyme as the vocalist. The band received good feedback for their demo work and soon signed to the cult label Head Not Found Records, who released Ragnarok's debut album Nattferd in 1995.The band was generally dissatisfied with Head Not Found Records, and intended to leave in 1996, but were persuaded to sign a contract for two more albums after the label offered them a much better deal. Unfortunately, this deal meant that Ragnarok was forced to turn down a deal with Century Media, who expressed interest in signing the band after a show in Oslo later that same year.In 1997, work was begun on Ragnarok's second album, titled Arising Realm, which featured Shagrath of the band Dimmu Borgir on keyboards. In 1998, Ragnarok went on tour for the first time, playing eight shows in Denmark and Germany in addition to the Blood Log Festival in Leipzig. At the end of the year Ragnarok started recording Diabolical Age, their third album. Diabolical Age was not finished until late in 1999, and by the time it was actually released Thyme had left the band, to be replaced by vocalist Astaroth, and Sander had joined as a second guitarist. It was soon clear, however, that Sander was not cut out to perform with the band, so he was kicked out and replaced with Lord Arcamous shortly after the eventual release of Diabolical Age in 2000.Later in 2000, Ragnarok embarked on a short tour with Swedish band Satanic Slaughter, in the course of which it became clear that Astaroth was not capable of continuing on with the band. He left the band after the tour. Lord Arcamous filled in as vocalist for the recording of the album In Nomine Satanas on Regain Records, but he himself was replaced with Hoest of the band Taake in 2002.After Hoest joined the band, Ragnarok toured both Europe and North America and perfected their sound for their next album. Blackdoor Miracle was recorded in 2004, and both the band and its fans were pleased with the results.After a renewal of the lineup the only remaining old member, drummer Jontho, announced they will start touring with the new lineup. The band has rarely played live in recent years but were scheduled for the 10th anniversary of the Inferno Metal Festival in 2010. When they appeared there in 2003, a reviewer from said their performance "fitted very well into [my concept of black metal\], both good and bad" and seemed to please large numbers of the crowd. And in December 2005 they played their "first time at a drug-free event" at St. Croix in Fredrikstad and were a huge success.In March 2010, they released their new album, Collectors of the King, through Regain Records. A reviewer at called it "some of the most insistent and gripping Black Metal I've heard in a while." The reviewer at NecroWeb gave it 7 out of 10 points.In May 2012, they announced they had signed with Agonia Records and would release a seventh album.Current membersHansFyrste - vocalsBolverk - guitarDecepticon - bass and backing vocalsJontho - drumsFormer membersH√łest - vocals 1999 - 2008Thyme - vocals 1994 - 1999Astaroth - vocals 2000 - 2001Lord Arcamous - vocals 2001 - 2002Sander - rhythm guitar 1999 - 2000Jerv - bass 1994 - 2007Rym - guitar 1994 - 2007


Hot tracks