Cookies help us deliver our services. By using our services, you agree to our use of cookies. Learn more


Little Dragon

Little Dragon are a Swedish band from Gothenburg, Sweden, formed in 1996.
It consists of singer Yukimi Nagano (vocals, percussion) and her close high school friends Erik Bodin (drums), Fredrik Källgren Wallin (bass) and Håkan Wirenstrand (keyboards).Little Dragon's first release was the double A-side 7" single "Twice"/"Test", released on the Off the Wall label in 2006.
The following year, the band signed with the larger British indie label Peacefrog Records and released their self-titled debut album Little Dragon on 27 August 2007.
Their second album, Machine Dreams, was released on 17 August 2009, followed by their third album, Ritual Union, released on 25 July 2011.HistoryThe band's name was inspired by the "Little Dragon" nickname Nagano earned due to the "fuming tantrums" she used to throw while recording in the studio.
"It's a little exaggerated but there is some truth in it", Nagano said.
"But we've grown up a bit and I realised you can't have a fit every day because otherwise you won't be able to stand each other."Little Dragon has toured throughout Europe and has also made music videos for the songs "Test", "Twice", "Constant Surprises", "After the Rain" and "Fortune".
The video for "Twice" was directed by award-winning Swedish filmmaker Johannes Nystrom.
The double A-side single "Fortune"/"Blinking Pigs" was released in the UK on 26 January 2009.
Their song "Twice" was featured in an episode of the fifth season of Grey's Anatomy; in October 2011 was featured in the end sequence of the fifth episode of Revenge; in January 2014 was featured in the second episode of the first season of Being Mary Jane; and in the 2011 independent film I Will Follow which also featured the band's song "Scribble Paper" in the opening scene.
"Twice" was also featured in the season premiere of the fourth season of The Vampire Diaries, and also in the 2013 movie Magic Magic (feat.
Michael Cera).
In late 2009, the group was chosen as one of Beyond Race Magazine's "50 Emerging Artists", resulting in a spot in the publication's eleventh issue as well as an exclusive online Q&A on the magazine's site.In September 2011, former keyboardist Arild Werling rejoined the group on support keys during live performances.In February 2014, Little Dragon announced they would be releasing a new LP, Nabuma Rubberband, on May 13 in the U.S.
via Loma Vista Recordings and May 12 via Because Music in the U.K.
The album was inspired by "Janet Jackson slow jams." The first single released off the LP was "Klapp Klapp".CollaborationsThe band members have collaborated with several other artists:Drummer Erik Bodin is the percussionist for Swedish indie folk singer José González and Nagano sings harmony vocals on González's second album In Our Nature (2007).Nagano, Källgren Wallin and Wirenstrand are featured on Gorillaz's 2010 album Plastic Beach, on the tracks "Empire Ants" and "To Binge".
Little Dragon were the supporting act in Europe, Australia, New Zealand and Hong Kong for Gorillaz on their Escape to Plastic Beach World Tour.Little Dragon collaborated with Dave Sitek, producer and member of TV on the Radio, and his 2010 solo project Maximum Balloon on the track "If You Return"."Wildfire", a collaboration track between Little Dragon and SBTRKT that features vocals by Nagano, appears on SBTRKT's eponymous 2011 album.Nagano provided vocals for "Scale It Back" on DJ Shadow's 2011 album The Less You Know, the Better.Nagano was featured in the song "Just Don't" on Raphael Saadiq's 2011 album Stone Rollin'."High Res" (Big Boi Feat.
Jai Paul & Little Dragon) - Big Boi - Vicious Lies and Dangerous Rumors (Deluxe Edition) 2012"Descending" (Big Boi Feat.
Little Dragon) - Big Boi - Vicious Lies and Dangerous Rumors (Deluxe Edition) 2012"Thom Pettie" (Big Boi Feat.
Little Dragon & Killer Mike) - Big Boi - Vicious Lies and Dangerous Rumors (Deluxe Edition) 2012Nagano was the featured vocal for "I See a Different You" with Koop in a compilation CD called Latinova 4


Hot tracks

Scale It Back


Pretty Girls


Shuffle A Dream




Pretty Girls


No Love


Constant Surprises




Klapp Klapp


Shuffle A Dream