Cookies help us deliver our services. By using our services, you agree to our use of cookies.

Daniel Lanois

Daniel Lanois

Daniel Lanois (/læn'w??/ lan-WAH; born September 19, 1951 in Hull, Quebec) is a Canadian record producer, guitarist, vocalist, and songwriter.Lanois has released several albums of his own work. However, he is best known for producing albums for a wide variety of artists, including Bob Dylan, Neil Young, Peter Gabriel, Emmylou Harris, Willie Nelson, and Brandon Flowers. Lanois also collaborated with Brian Eno: most famously on producing several platinum albums for U2, including The Joshua Tree. Three albums produced or co-produced by Lanois have won the Grammy Award for Album of the Year. Four others album received Grammy nominations.VideographyProduction creditsDemo – Simply Saucer, 1974 (not released commercially until 1989, on the album Cyborgs Revisited)Blues and Sentimental – Jackie Washington, 1976 (As "Dan Lanois")Hobo's Taunt- Willie P. Bennett, 1977 (Engineered, as "Dan Lanois", with Bob Lanois)More Singable Songs – Raffi, 1977 (Recording credit as "Dan Lanois")Can't Wait For Summer – Ron Neilson, 1978Choice Cuts – Crackers, 1978 (As "Dan Lanois")Millionaires, 1980 EP (As "Danny Lanois") (included two members of Teenage Head)This is the Ice Age – Martha and the Muffins, 1981Dream Away – Bernie LaBarge, 1981Mama Quilla, KKK, Angry Young Woman – 3-song 12" Album- 1982, Mama Quilla IIDance After Curfew – Nash the Slash, 1982Danseparc – Martha and the Muffins, 1982Ambient 4/On Land – Brian Eno, 1982Parachute Club – Parachute Club, 1983Apollo: Atmospheres and Soundtracks – Brian Eno, 1983The Pearl – Harold Budd and Brian Eno, 1984Mystery Walk – M + M, 1984The Unforgettable Fire – U2, 1984Secrets and Sins – Luba, 1984Thursday Afternoon – Brian Eno, 1985Hybrid – Michael Brook, 1985Birdy – Peter Gabriel, 1985Voices – Roger Eno, 1985Power Spot – Jon Hassell, 1986So – Peter Gabriel, 1986The Joshua Tree – U2, 1987Robbie Robertson – Robbie Robertson, 1987Acadie – Daniel Lanois, 1989Oh Mercy – Bob Dylan, 1989Yellow Moon – Neville Brothers, 1989Home – Hothouse Flowers, 1990Achtung Baby – U2, 1991Flash of the Spirit – Jon Hassell and Farafina, 1992Us – Peter Gabriel, 1992The Last of the Mohicans – movie soundtrack, 1992For the Beauty of Wynona – Daniel Lanois, 1993Ron Sexsmith – Ron Sexsmith, 1994Wrecking Ball – Emmylou Harris, 1995Night to Night – Geoffrey Oryema, 1996Fever In Fever Out – Luscious Jackson, 1996Time Out of Mind – Bob Dylan, 1997Brian Blade Fellowship – Brian Blade, 199812 Bar Blues – Scott Weiland, 1998Teatro – Willie Nelson, 1998The Million Dollar Hotel – movie soundtrack, 2000All That You Can't Leave Behind – U2, 2000La Belle Vista - Harold Budd, 2003 (secretly recorded in Lanois Los Angeles living room)How to Dismantle an Atomic Bomb – U2, 2004 (track "Love and Peace or Else")Dusk & Summer – Dashboard Confessional, 2006 (also produced by Don Gilmore)loudQUIETloud, A film about the pixies – movie soundtrack, 2006Back Where You Belong – Sinéad O'Connor, 2007.Let It Go  - Mother Superior, 2007.Snake Road – Bob Lanois, 2006.No Line on the Horizon – U2, 2009 (plus songwriting credits)."Mind Games" & "Night Nurse" – Sinéad O'Connor, 2009.Mercy – Rocco DeLuca and the Burden, 2009.Flamingo – Brandon Flowers, 2010.Le Noise – Neil Young, 2010.Honest Mistake - Jim Wilson, 2012.Battle Born – The Killers, 2012 (track "Heart of a Girl").


Hot tracks

Daniel Lanois - Jolie Louise

Jolie Louise


Isabelle Boulay - Jolie Louise

Jolie Louise