Cookies help us deliver our services. By using our services, you agree to our use of cookies. Learn more

Super Junior

Super Junior

Super Junior (Korean: Pronunciation: ?????; Syupeo Junieo) are a South Korean pop group. Formed in 2005 by producer Lee Soo-man of S.M. Entertainment, the group comprised a total of thirteen members at its peak. Super Junior originally debuted with twelve members, consisting of leader Leeteuk, Heechul, Hankyung, Yesung, Kangin, Shindong, Sungmin, Eunhyuk, Donghae, Siwon, Ryeowook and Kibum. Kyuhyun joined the group in 2006.Often referred to as the "Kings of the Hallyu (Korean) Wave", Super Junior launched into international recognition following the release of their best-selling single "Sorry, Sorry" in 2009, the title song of their most critically successful album Sorry, Sorry. Over the years, they have been divided into smaller groups, simultaneously targeting different music industries and audiences. Largely due to Super Junior's success as entertainers, other Korean entertainment managements began to train their music groups in other areas of entertainment, such as acting and hosting.The best-selling K-pop artist for three years in a row, Super Junior have earned thirteen music awards from the Mnet Asian Music Awards, sixteen from the Golden Disk Awards, and are the second singing group to win Favorite Artist Korea at the 2008 MTV Asia Awards after JTL in 2003. In 2012, they were nominated for "Best Asian Act" in MTV Europe Music Awards.In December 2009, Hankyung departed from the group after filing a lawsuit against their agency S.M. Entertainment. Hankyung subsequently won the lawsuit in December 2010, though his departure from Super Junior was not made official until September 27, 2011, when S.M. Entertainment finally released a statement to that effect. Kangin enlisted for his mandatory military service on July 5, 2010 and completed his service on April 16, 2012. Heechul enlisted for his mandatory military service on September 1, 2011 and completed his service on August 30, 2013. Leeteuk enlisted for his mandatory military service on October 30, 2012. Yesung enlisted for his mandatory military service on May 6, 2013. As of 2014, Super Junior have nine active members: Heechul, Kangin, Shindong, Sungmin, Eunhyuk, Siwon, Donghae, Ryeowook, and Kyuhyun.


Hot tracks