Cookies help us deliver our services. By using our services, you agree to our use of cookies. Learn more



Incognito is a British band, as well as one of the members of the United Kingdom's acid jazz movement. Their debut album, Jazz Funk, was released in 1981, with 14 more albums following, the last of which, Surreal, was released in 2012.The band's frontman, composer, record producer, guitarist and singer is Jean-Paul 'Bluey' Maunick. Other notable band members include or have included the singers Linda Muriel,Jocelyn Brown, Maysa Leak, Tony Momrelle, Imaani, Vanessa Haynes, Mo Brandis, Natalie Williams, Carleen Anderson, Pamela (PY) Anderson Kelli Sae (of Count Basic) and Joy Malcom.HistoryFound by Paul "Tubbs" Williams & Jean-Paul "Bluey" Maunick in 1979. Those who were around in the late 1970s will remember Light of the World, where Incognito sprung from. LotW was a substantially-sized group and as such, certain members wanted to go in different directions. The more commercially-minded members went off and formed Beggar & Co, whilst those wanting to groom a more Jazz-Funk oriented sound formed Incognito. However, there has been a re-connection over the years in LotW with various former members, alongside their other commitments.Incognito has had intermittent success in the UK Singles Chart, with their breakthrough 1990 hit a cover version of the Ronnie Laws tune "Always There", featuring Jocelyn Brown, which made No. 6 in the UK. The group's 1992 single, "Don't you worry 'bout a thing" saw similar success, reaching No. 19 in the UK. They have also been a favourite of various re-mixers, including Masters at Work, David Morales, Roger Sanchez and Jazzanova, and have released several albums consisting almost entirely of remixes.In 1994, Incognito appeared on the Red Hot Organization's compilation album, Stolen Moments: Red Hot + Cool. The album, meant to raise awareness and funds in support of the AIDS epidemic in relation to the African American community, was heralded as "Album of the Year" by Time magazine. In 1996, the band contributed "Water to Drink" to the AIDS-benefit album Red Hot + Rio, also produced by the Red Hot Organization.Their song "Need to Know" is the theme song for liberal radio and television news program "Democracy Now!".


Hot tracks

Incognito - Don't You Worry 'Bout A Thing

Don't You Worry 'Bout A Thing


Incognito - Always There

Always There


Incognito - Everyday



Incognito - Get Into My Groove

Get Into My Groove


Incognito - Listen to the music

Listen to the music


Incognito - Everything Your Heart Desires

Everything Your Heart Desires


Incognito - If You Want My Love

If You Want My Love


Incognito - Morning Sun (Dim's Disco Classic Re-blend)

Morning Sun (Dim's Disco Classic Re-blend)


Incognito - Smile



Incognito - One Step To A Miracle

One Step To A Miracle


Incognito - Can You Feel Me

Can You Feel Me


Incognito - Gypsy



Incognito - Love Is The Colour

Love Is The Colour