Cookies help us deliver our services. By using our services, you agree to our use of cookies.

The Whip

The Whip

The Whip are a band whose founding members, Bruce Carter and Danny Saville, hail from Oldham, Greater Manchester, England. They were previously in the hotly tipped four-piece Nylon Pylon, who were signed to London Records and supported The Music on their 2003 Tour. The rhythm section is Nathan Sudders (bass), who also plays in Manchester band Tokolosh and Fiona "Li'l Fee" Daniel (drums), who was previously in Colne based band Earl. The band play a form of electronic dance-rock that is heavily indebted to LCD Soundsystem, but also mixes in elements of post-punk output reminiscent of New Order, Gary Numan and Depeche Mode.Band historyThe Whip debuted in 2006 with the single Frustration, a limited edition 7" issued by the British label Kids. They subsequently released several singles on record labels such as Kitsuné, before their debut album X Marks Destination emerged on 24 March 2008 on Southern Fried Records. The album was produced by Jim Abbiss, best known for his work with Björk, Kasabian and the Arctic Monkeys.Tracks "Trash" and "Divebomb" featured on the Kitsune Maison Compilations 3 and 4 respectively, whilst "Muzzle #1", appears in the soundtrack for the FIFA 09 video game. But it is "Trash" that has given the band its widest exposure to date, having been used in a national TV advertising campaign for Coors Light Beer, which debuted in 2009. "Trash" is also the theme tune of clips show Rude Tube.Band members have also been commissioned to do remixes for bands such as Editors, Hadouken! and The Courteeners, on their track "Fallowfield Hillbilly".Following the release of their debut album founding member and keyboard player Danny Saville left the band to become Account Manager at GV Multi-Media.Wired Together, the band's second studio album, was released on 26 September 2011 to mixed reviews.


Hot tracks