Cookies help us deliver our services. By using our services, you agree to our use of cookies. Learn more

The Faceless

The Faceless

HistoryThe band was formed in Encino by guitarist Michael Keene and bassist Brandon Giffin in 2003. In the winter of 2005, the band began work on a four-song extended-play album which would become Akeldama. After recording the drum tracks, drummer Brett Batdorf left the band. After a break in the recording process, the band decided to make the EP into a full–length record and recruited several drummers to finish the drum tracks for the remaining songs.Following the release of Akeldama, the band toured extensively with bands including Necrophagist, Decapitated, Nile, and The Black Dahlia Murder. The band went through several fill-in drummers before adding drummer Lyle Cooper to their line-up.Planetary Duality débuted at number 119 on the Billboard 200. The album was critically acclaimed and brought the band a new level of success.Soon after its release, they toured with bands including Meshuggah, Lamb of God and In Flames. Prior to their performance at California Metalfest IV, Giffin announced that he would no longer be in the band. The band also announced that they would be playing in the The Summer Slaughter Tour of 2010 along with bands including Decapitated, All Shall Perish, and Decrepit Birth.In May 2011, Keene confirmed via Facebook that Geoffrey Ficco would be replacing Derek Rydquist as the band’s vocalist. Ficco performed the harsh vocals on “The Eidolon Reality” pre-production preview track released on YouTube. In April 2011, the band was joined by bassist Evan Brewer of Animosity, replacing Giffin.In March 2012, guitarist Steve Jones left the band and was replaced by Wes Hauch, leaving Keene as the last founding member still in the band. Keene stated that “he’s moved in a different direction than us and we wish him good luck in his ventures.” Keene has also stated that the addition of Hauch gave the band some fresh energy, praising Hauch to be “one of the best guitar players I’ve ever had the privilege of playing with, he’s really amazing.”Autotheism débuted at number 50 on the Billboard 200 and hit number 1 on CMJ radio loud rock charts.The band, along with bands including Cannibal Corpse, Between the Buried and Me, Periphery, took part in The Summer Slaughter Tour of 2012.In January 2013, Cooper left the band, and posted on his Facebook module regarding his departure—reasons being that the band’s goals and interests were not his own. Alex Rudinger, formerly of The HAARP Machine, a labelmate of The Faceless, became the band’s new full-time drummer.


Hot tracks