Cookies help us deliver our services. By using our services, you agree to our use of cookies. Learn more

The Puppini Sisters

The Puppini Sisters

The Puppini Sisters are a close harmony vocal trio composed of Italian Marcella Puppini and English Kate Mullins and Emma Smith. Although the three are not related, the name was chosen in tribute to The Andrews Sisters. Puppini first studied fashion design at Saint Martins School of Art, and later music at Trinity College of Music in London where she met Mullins and original member Rosanna Schura, who was later replaced by Stephanie O'Brien. The trio are backed by a three-piece band featuring Blake Wilner on guitar, Henrik Jensen on double bass and Peter Ibbetson on drums. After eight years with the group, O'Brien decided to leave and she was replaced by Emma Smith. Critic Arion Berger described them as part of "Retro's futuristic vanguard" and characterized their sound as "swing-punk". The group is associated with a burlesque revival.HistoryThe group was founded in 2004 by Marcella Puppini after she was inspired by the animated film Les Triplettes de Belleville (2003). In 2005 they were signed by UCJ (Universal Classics and Jazz). The Puppini Sisters' debut single, "Boogie Woogie Bugle Boy", was a cover of the hit single by The Andrews Sisters. The Puppini Sisters' second album, The Rise and Fall of Ruby Woo includes original compositions by Puppini, Stephanie O'Brien and Kate Mullins.The Puppini Sisters television appearances include This Morning, Loose Women, The Alan Titchmarsh Show, Big Brother's Little Brother, Hell's Kitchen, CBeebies' Space Pirates, The View (on ABC), and 2011's A Michael Bublé Christmas on NBC. The group also appeared in the 2009 Jonathan Creek New Year's special "The Grinning Man", performing their 2007 single "Spooky". The trio was also featured on the soundtracks for the US TV series Greys Anatomy and Chuck.The group performed at Glastonbury Festival 2009 on 27 June as well as performing at Goodwood Vintage Festival on 15 August.On 27 June 2012, O'Brien announced via the group's Facebook page that she was leaving The Puppini Sisters. It was later revealed that Terrianne Passingham would replace O'Brien. However, Passingham also left the group and shortly thereafter Emma Smith took her place. The singer made her debut with The Puppini Sisters on The Graham Norton Show in November 2012.InfluencesAccording to Marcella Puppini, the group sings about modern and risqué subjects in a quaintly old-fashioned way. This comes from their interest in 1940s songs such as "Hold Tight (Want Some Seafood Mama)" that have sexual undertones despite their overtly innocent lyrics.The Puppini Sisters' MySpace page includes a list of acts which have influenced the trio, including The Andrews Sisters, The Chordettes The Boswell Sisters, Marlene Dietrich, Fred Astaire and Ginger Rogers, Kate Bush, Mike Flowers, Joan Crawford, The Smiths, and Tom Waits.AwardsThe Puppini Sisters won a Gold Disc for international sales of their first CD, Betcha Bottom Dollar, in 2007.The Puppini Sisters website won the 2008 Cream of Yorkshire awards "Gold Award" for best website. The digital advertising agency twentysix won the top award the "overall Grand Prix award" for its design of a website for Universal Music showcasing the group.


Hot tracks

The Puppini Sisters - Heart Of Glass

Heart Of Glass


The Puppini Sisters - Jingle Bells

Jingle Bells


The Puppini Sisters - Spooky



The Puppini Sisters - Sway